Fedora-17 Anaconda LVM Bug

Friday, I get new laptop – Lenovo Thinkpad X220. Excited, I copy boot.iso to USB device and set out to install Fedora-17.

    $ dd if=boot.iso of=/dev/sdb

Usual chore: select language, time zone, set root password, create paritions, select packages and install. I create partition table: mix of standard partitions and LVM logical volumes. I never tried LVM logical volumes before.

  • /boot   ext4   128M
  • /         ext4     20G
  • swap   swap   04G
  • LVM Physical Volume 280G encrypt=ON
  • /home   LV  ext4    10G    encrypt=ON
  • /data1   LV  ext4    70G    encrypt=ON
  • /data2   LV  ext4   100G
  • /data3   LV  ext4   100G

Next, I select Gnome Desktop, de-select some packages, select few others, hit install. It takes more than an hour to finish; says – crongratulations, installation complete. I reboot.

System boot-up halts with message – Cannot find font file True, throws me on to emergency mode shell. I google message – see something about boot parameter SYSFONT=True, I set SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16, boot again. System boot-up halts with several – Dependency failed for blah – messages, throws me on to emergency mode shell. I figure, I goofed up at custom package selection. I think it is weird, very un-likely, to get dependency errors.

Saturday afternoon, I set out to re-install again. Everything same, I go with default Graphical Desktop option, no customisations, hit install. It takes more than an hour to finish; says – congratulations, installation complete. I reboot, same error. I re-install again, select Minimal option, no customisations, hit install. It takes more than an hour to finish; says – congratulations, installation complete. I reboot. Again same error. I post a message on #fedora-devel, they say – cannot find font file True – not error. Yet no idea why system can not boot.

It’s past 23:00 hours, I’m tired, losing patience. For last time, I re-install, select Software Development option, no customisations, hit install. It takes more than an hour to finish; says – congratulations, installation complete. I reboot. Same error, emeergency mode shell. I ask on #fedora-devel again, they say looks like LVM glitch. I list LVM volumes – $ lvs – it says – no physical volume. I try – $ lvmdiskscan – it says same – no physical volume. I collect install.log, anaconda-ks.cfg, install.log.syslog, dmesg.out, file bug.

   -> https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=855548

As I file bug, I think about – LVM Physical Volume 280G encrypt=ON. I nailed it! I re-install again. Everything same, but -> LVM Physical Volume 280G encrypt=Off. I select Graphical Desktop -> Customise now, de-select some packages, select few others, hit install. It takes more than an hour to finish; says – congratulations, installation complete. I reboot.

Systems boots up to show fireworks on the shiny new login screen! 🙂 I login, run $ rsync to copy $HOME from old laptop. Everything in place. Look at watch, says 04:30hrs. I think about sleep. I come home, sleep.

Sunday afternoon, I write this post as I watch The Pianist.

4 thoughts on “Fedora-17 Anaconda LVM Bug

  1. You titled this a bug, you even logged a Mozilla bug against it, but in the final part of your blog post, you make it sound like no bug at all, you make it sound like you just forgot to select “encrypt=off”. So is it a bug or not?

    1. Yes, it is a bug.

      Eithre it is a bug in Anaconda user interface which allows user to encrypt both Pysical and Logical Volumes OR it is a bug with initscripts which fail to de-crypt such partitions and result in boot failure.

  2. That’s very unlikely to be a bug in anaconda, but rather in init somewhere (plymouth or initscripts). The install goes fine; the problem is that the encrypted volume is not unlocked on boot (as the output you pasted in the bug makes perfectly clear). As someone pointed out in the bug, encrypting both the PV and LVs is rather unusual, and likely the source of the problem.

Leave a Reply

